.sh*t.my.students.said.

now that i am done with student teaching i have time to really share with you some of the highlights of my experience.  while there were man lows that a lot of you heard about including me QUITTING a week or so early.  there were also many many highs.

my students were special people and lot of them said shit that was really hilarious.  most times i could not even control my laughter when they said it.

can i get your number

one of my favorite students continually said inappropriate things to me.  he was the same individual who was confused as to what happened to the Egyptians.

on my last day my cooperation teacher had all the students say something nice and true about me and ask any question they want.  he immediately raised his hand and was jumping out of his seat.  i called on him first and he says:

“ms. h is the best teacher and she’s got a nice big but.  can i get your number ms. h?”  i about died.  another student whom i really liked yelled at him and so he said it louder and did some inappropriate movements.  i was MORTIFIED.  the class erupted and my poor cooperating teachers was stunned.  so typical.

DIE DIE DIE

after returning from a great little hiatus to texas, i came back to school a bit sick.  nothing really serious but a cough.  during a particularly bad coughing attack one my especially kind students yelled DIE between each of my coughs, this was followed by a giggle.  what a gem she was.

Your Baby

while i have talked about the fact that a lovely student spread a rumor about me that i was pregnant i have not told the whole story.  This student was removed from school and sent to a special one for students with behavior issues.  her comments lived on.  in early april i had a student (not one of mine) ask me if i had a boy or girl.  i looked at her very confused and she said you had your baby was it a boy or a girl.  i was extremely perplexed.  a student that was one of mine walked up during this exchange and was like oh no she was not pregnant.  i looked at both of them very oddly.  the walked off.  apparently they thought i looked much slimmer that day!

dead cat

one of my students came in very upset one monday.  he was a special ed student and normally very happy.  the para-pro was not there yet so i took him aside to see what was wrong.  after asking a few questions he told me that his cat had died.  he was visually upset and i asked about the cat.  he told me about how nice the cat was and now he would cuddle it and make it sleep in his bed and how he could touch its teeth.  I could see how much this student loved his cat.  I asked when the cat passed away.  he responded August 13 2007.  I about died.  i was thinking this cat has passed away over the weekend.  he continued talking about how superior this cat was to the other cat he now has.  suppressing my laughter was one of the hardest things i had to do.

only words can describe



part of me will miss these little guys, the other part could not be done fast enough!

Leave a comment

Filed under grad school, teaching

Leave a Reply

