.weekend.wrapup.part 1

are you dieing to know about my weekend?

well i am dieing to tell you.  lisa and i took the 6 hour cartrip down to charlotte to visit with some old friends and get some much needed friend time in!  while mom went off to see her old tennis friends, I got to spend the weekend with WJK (for more about her read splash #2 here).  i stayed with her and her finance in their new apartment.  it was so nice, i am just so jealous of people who have their own spaces and own lives and can decorate, but i digress.

on saturday we did lots of wedding stuff.  i got to try on the bridesmaids dress.  the bridal botique was a mad house, aparently everyone, but me, got engaged over christmas and felt the need to go wedding dress shoping that day.  after squeezing my fat a$$ into the dress, we tried to tackel what shoes the bridesmaids would be wearing.  WJK had her heart set on a pair of platforms but paired with the dress i looked more like a street walker and less like a bridesmaid.  poor WJK’s heart was shattered, and against better judgement her mom and i kept pushing her to pick a pair of shoes.  as tensions rose the LOVELY sales associate decided to tell me that it would be better if i went up a size or two in my dress.  WELL NO SHIT SHURLOCK, however, they were only stocking the dress in 2, 6, 10 and 26.  HMMM becuase those are obviously the most reasonable sizes.  i mean if your not a 1o you are most certinaly a 26??

i harshly told her that i was just a little round right now as i have not been able to work out due to a hip stress fracture and i plan on being back to my normal size by the wedding… she rolled her eyes and went away.  i wanted to take my hooker heals and drive them threw her snotty eyeballs, but i bit my tounge.

after shoving my Fred Flintstone feet in to every type of shoe the store was caring we finally decided on an option that was just the lesser of all evils.  WJK did not love them but she wanted the shoes to be the same color as the dress and that narrowed down our options quite a bit.

this is when we did my FAVORITE thing and went to borders to look at wedding magazine and floral books.  it was so hard for me not to force my opinion onto WJK and even harder for her mom.

I am so proud of me hear friend as she has started exerting herself more.  our friendship always worked because i told her what we were doing and she said ok.  she has become way more assertive and i love it but it is causing quite the issue with her mom and wedding planning.  i know it will get all worked out as WJK has a vision and is determined to see it.

I also went makeup shopping at ULTA.  since i start student teaching TOMORROW i need to get my Sh*t together.  my battle with my acne is at a high right now so i am suffering from red blotchy scaly face (don’t you wish i included a picture??)

since freshman year of highschool i have had a fear of makeup.  i was waging a war with acne then too and anything i would put on my face would BURN, but i could not go to school looking like i just got a chemical peel so i suffered through.  that was the last time i wore something other then a loose powder on my face.  after getting air brushed for julie’s weeding i have been dieing to try out a makeup that did not burn and gave me that coverage.  i found it in SMASHBOX.

i have been wearing the primer on the left for a while, it really helps keep powder makeup in place and i loved the light feel of the Camera Ready Full Coverage Foundation UVA/UVB SPF 15

I went back and got the Camera Ready Full Coverage Concealer because well why not?

While there i also got talked into a mega splurge but after using it sunday morning i know it was worth every penny.  Dermalogica’s Daily Microfoliant is the exfoliant i have been looking for my whole life.  it is a powder and you add just a bit of water to make a past that you then rub all over your face.  it is gentle enough to use every day.  it got all the little skin flace off my face without leaving that redness so common with an exfoliant.  totally worth the $50 price tag.

i will cover lil deb cakes 50th birthday tomorrow because well this weekend was so great it deserves 2 posts!

3 Comments

Filed under friends, hair/makeup, shopping, travel, vacation, weekend wrap up, WJK

3 responses to “.weekend.wrapup.part 1

  1. Pingback: .obsession. | a.splash.of.happy

  2. Whit

    hahahahahaha…..I just now read this! YOu didn’t tell about the part when you did the carpet sliders 🙂

Leave a Reply

